July 14, 2024 | 5:35 am
You are here:  / Contestants / 20 selected for Miss Jamaica World finals

20 selected for Miss Jamaica World finals

THE beauty pageant season kicked off on Sunday night at the Pegasus hotel in St Andrew with the eliminations of the 2015 Miss Jamaica World beauty pageant.

From 39 entrants, 20 girls were selected to compete for the coveted crown in the pageant which will climax on August 15 at the Montego Bay Convention Centre. Among the finalists are two media personalities, practising lawyers and medical students.

According to Laura Butler of Fusion Consulting, franchise holder for the Miss Jamaica World pageant, selecting the finalists was no easy task.

“It was a tedious process selecting the final 20 and it was just as nerve- racking for the girls as well. Our main aim is always to improve the pageant in many ways,” Butler told the Jamaica Observer.

The judging panel comprised Cindy Breakspeare, Miss World 1976; Miss Jamaica World 2011 Danielle Crosskill; Miss Jamaica World 2014 Laurie Ann Chin; theatre practitioner Aston Cooke; clothing retailer and former Miss Jamaica World finalist Sophia Max Brown; Richard Ferdinand; and Tommy James.

“While the pageant’s objective is to make these women more self sufficient, more confident and more capable, it is geared towards the overall development of women,” said Butler.

During the elimination showcase — which saw Miss Jamaica World 2006 Sara Lawrence and Kool FM personality Roxene Nickle as hosts — up-and-coming singers Ari Lopez and Timmy James entertained the audience with a variety of songs.

The 20 girls selected for the grand coronation were:

* Robyn Lloyd – Ms HYPE TV

*Jade McBean – Ms Immigration USA

*Jovi Jaja – Ms Windy Air Conditioners

* Kayla Blake – Ms Winchester Optical

* Jheanell Nesbeth – Ms Wata Land

*Shari Jo Robinson – Ms Virgins International Trading

*Talia Soares – Ms Morfose Hair Care Services

*Krystal Tomlinson – Ms Spa Aesthetique

*Setrena Clarke – Ms Yaad Trendz

*Cavel Campbell – Ms Narga’s Beauty Experience

*Suchelis Rhodd – Ms Klip Extreme

* Rochelle Parchment – Ms Panasonic

*Sanneta Myrie – Ms Evergrow Garden Centre

*Royanne DeSilva – Ms Future Energy Source

*Renee Boland – Ms Amelia Morgundy

*Chanel Ricketts – Ms French Connection Events

*Daina Haughton- Ms Pier One

*Christine Rowe – Ms Evans Electrical

*Roshelle McKinley – Ms Optical Solutions International Ltd

*Crystal Mason – Ms University College of the Caribbean.